Skip to main content


NYCC Dean Named Chair of the Council on Chiropractic Education

January 17, 2020 New York Chiropractic College

The Council on Chiropractic Education (CCE) has announced Dr. Jean-Nicolas Poirier, New York Chiropractic College's dean of the School of Health Sciences & Education and director of Academic Services, as its new chair for 2020-2022, based on the results of the CCE Council election.

Nic Poirier

First elected to the Council on Chiropractic Education in 2014, Dr. Poirier most recently served on the Council Executive Committee as associate chair from 2018 to present (2020). In his new role, he will continue to uphold the vision of the CCE, to promote excellence and assure quality in chiropractic education.

NYCC President Dr. Michael Mestan knows the impact of Dr. Poirier's dedication and outstanding work firsthand, as an integral part of the College's Academic Affairs leadership. "We are proud of Dr. Poirier's professional accomplishments and his embodiment of the NYCC mission in everything that he does," Mestan said. "I am confident he will continue to be a tremendous leader for the CCE in this new role, and look forward to seeing the great things his tenure as chair will no doubt bring."

The values of the CCE include integrity as the foundation in all interactions, accountability to students and the public, collaboration in a community of people with a culture of respect, quality as informed by the use of evidence, and improvement to advance excellence. The Council of the Council on Chiropractic Education consists of 18 councilors. Of those, ten are educational representatives, five private practitioners, and three public members.

Dr. Poirier earned a D.E.C. in natural sciences from Collège Maisonneuve, Montréal, Québec; his D.C. from the Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières, Trois-Rivières, Québec; and his Ed.D. in Executive Leadership from St. John Fisher College in Rochester, N.Y.; he also completed a residency in diagnostic imaging from Parker College of Chiropractic (Now Parker University).

Back to Top